Regional Info

The Kimberley Region of Western Australia is made up of four Shires:

  • Shire of Wyndham East Kimberley
  • Shire of Broome
  • Shire of Derby West Kimberley
  • Shire of Halls Creek

The major population centres are the towns of Broome, Derby, Fitzroy Crossing, Halls Creek, Kununurra and Wyndham. There are also approximately 215 Aboriginal communities, of various population sizes, located throughout the Kimberley.

The Kimberley Development Commision is an excellent source of detailed information about the demographics, economics and infrastruture of the region.